Norwich University | Alumni & Family



Homecoming Honorees

2017 Harmon Memorial Wall Honorees

The names of alumni, faculty, staff, and friends of Norwich University who have made a significant contribution to the improvement of this institution are inscribed on the Ernest Harmon Memorial Wall. Listed below are the names added in 2017. 

Arthur O. Davidson, Jr. '52
MG John R. Greenway '56
COL Robert K. Samia '57
Edward E. Steele '59
Lorber L. Baker '63
Albert C. Hills '63
Robert B. Lauder '63
John J. Luzzi '63
Andrew L. Wilkinson, Jr. '63
Paul L. Ricker '79
Alden Guild H’77 - Friend
Ann J. Turner H’01 - Staff

For more information about the Harmon Memorial Wall, please click here.

2017 NU Alumni Award Recipients

The Norwich University Alumni Association, with support of the NU Alumni Office and College of Graduate & Continuing Studies, annually presents special awards to alumni and friends who have made significant contributions to Norwich, their community and profession. 

Distinguished Alumni Award:
     - William Preismeyer '67
     - Steve Knych ’82
     - Hugh McLaughlin ’87
CGCS Alumni Award:
     - Susan Fertig-Dykes M'09
Alumni Directors' Award:
     - Walter Brown ’72
     - Tony Maida ’77
     - Bruce Hoogstraten ’82
New Leader Achievement Award:
     - Andy Beichlin ’97
Sustained Service Award:
     - Bob Metcalf ’57
     - Fred VanAlstyne ’67
     - John Campbell ’72
     - Kim Baumann ’87
Admissions Sustained Service Award:
     - James Telizzi ’62
Honorary Alumnus/na Award:
     - Don Wallace - Retired Faculty

To learn more about the categories and criteria, please click here.

2017 Hall of Fame Inductees

The Norwich University Athletic Hall of Fame is a tribute to the history of Norwich athletics. Boasting 277 individuals and 27 teams, the Hall of Fame recognizes both distinguished athletes and individuals who have contributed to the success of Norwich student-athletes.

Fred Kreitzberg '57 & H'94 -- Honorary
Richard Schmidt '62 -- Football
Paul Gallerani '67 -- Hockey
Al Moskal '67 -- Distinguished, Football
Curt McCarthy '77 -- Soccer/ Baseball
Noble Allen '82 -- Distinguished, Soccer
Shane Abrams '97 -- Football/ Basketball
Dan Rowan '97 -- Hockey
Rene Cheatham '07 -- Basketball
The '66 - '67 Men’s Hockey Team 

For more information, and to see the list of past inductees, please click here.

2017 Valor Placque Honorees

This year we are honoring the following reunion class members with deepest gratitude for their service. 

Distinguished Service Cross

Class of 1917
BrigGen Raymond E. Knapp, USMC 
Class of 1942
CPT John C. Lee, Jr., USA 

Secretary of Defense Medal for Valor
Class of 1982
Alan D. Johnston

Silver Star * signifies multiple silver stars
Class of 1907
CPT Joseph A. Evarts, USA 
Class of 1912
COL Frederick V. Hemenway, USA 
Class of 1917
BrigGen Raymond E. Knapp, USMC **
Class of 1922
GEN Isaac D. White, USA
Class of 1927
MG Paul A. Disney, USA 
MG Briard P. Johnson, USA 
Class of 1932
CPT Sten E. Bergstedt, USA 
LTC George L. Menard, USA 
Class of 1937
MAJ Richard L. Garrison, USA 
CPT Philip M. Hawes, USA 
LTC Ian F. Turner, USA 
Class of 1942
CPT Carl R. Hughes, USA 
CPT John C. Lee, Jr., USA 
1LT Raymond R. Paquette, USA 
Class of 1952
COL Richard E. Van Ness, Jr., USA 
COL Bruce F. Williams, USA 
Class of 1957
COL William T. Palmer, USA 
COL William Riedl, USA 
Class of 1962
COL Timothy H. Donovan, Jr., USA 
Class of 1967
1LT Patrick E. Money, III, USA 
Class of 1987
CPT Glen D. Burnham, USA

This does not represent a complete list of those on the plaque. The plaque is located on the first floor of the Kreitzberg Library. Please contact Chrissie Dumas at 802.485.2307 if you have received one or more of these awards, so we may include your name on the placque.