Norwich University | Alumni & Family



The Bicentennial Stairs

Partridge Monument in the Fall

One of the most lasting landmarks of Norwich University’s Centennial Celebration in 1919 is the Centennial Stairs. Located at the northeast corner of the Upper Parade ground, each of the 40 granite steps bears the name of an individual considered important in Norwich’s first 100 years.

In commemoration of Norwich’s Bicentennial in 2019, a stairway constructed between the southeast corner of the Upper Parade and the Sullivan Museum and History Center memorializes 78 individuals who made significant contributions to the development and legacy of the University in its second century.

Norwich’s leaders, distinguished alumni and others from military and civilian careers and those who represent “firsts” at Norwich are represented on these monuments. They serve as a tribute and daily reminder of those who personify Capt. Partridge’s ideals and exemplify Norwich’s mission “to make moral, patriotic, effective and useful citizens.”

Honoree Class Year  
Charles Dole 1869 Trustee; President

Charles H. Spooner 1878 President

Ernest W. Gibson Sr. 1894 Trustee; U.S. Senator

Charles A. Plumley 1896 President; U.S Congressman

Hiram I. Bearss 1898 Medal of Honor recipient

Harry W. Patterson 1909, H 1944 Trustee; Benefactor

William B. Mayo H 1910 Trustee

Leonard F. Wing Sr. 1914, H 1938, H 1946 Trustee; Major General, USA

Edward H. Brooks 1916, H 1949 Lieutenant General, USA

Ernest N. Harmon 1916, H 1931, H 1965 President; Major General, USA

William G. Wilson 1918, H 1995 Cofounder Alcoholics Anonymous

Harold D. Martin 1920 First African-American student

William H. Adams 1921, H 1953 Trustee; Board Chairman

David B. Hollis 1922, H 1980 Benefactor

Isaac D. White 1922, H 1951 Trustee; General, USA

Ernest W. Gibson Jr. 1923 Trustee; U.S. Senator

Stanley C. Wilson H 1928 Trustee; Board Chairman; Governor of Vermont

J. Walter Juckett 1930, H 1962 Trustee; Benefactor

Paul R. Andrews 1930, H 1966 Trustee; Benefactor

Godfrey L. Cabot H 1935 Trustee; Benefactor

Jacob Shapiro 1936, H 1966 Trustee; Benefactor

James M. Burt 1939, H 1969 Medal of Honor recipient

Charles S. Adams 1940, H 1989 Trustee; Board Chairman

Jonas M. Platt 1940, H 1982 Trustee; Major General, USMC

George A. Garrison 1942 Trustee; Volunteer

Philip R. Marsilius 1943, H 1968 Trustee; Board Chairman

Robert W. Christie 1944, H 1972 Trustee; Volunteer

William W. White 1946, H 1961 Trustee; Benefactor

Thaddeus Buczko 1947, H 1996 Benefactor

Richard L. Keenan 1947, H 1999 Trustee; Benefactor

J. Frederick Weintz Jr. 1947, H 2001 Trustee; Benefactor

Rollin S. Reiter 1950, H 1990 Trustee; Board Chairman

W. Russell Todd 1950, H 1975 President; Major General, USA

Robert S. Lappin 1951, H 2000 Trustee; Volunteer

A. J. Bartoletto 1952, H 2009 Benefactor

David C. Crawford 1952, H 1993 Trustee; Benefactor

James C. Abare 1957 Trustee; Benefactor

Fred C. Kreitzberg 1957, H 1994 Trustee; Board Chairman; Benefactor

Frederick M. Haynes 1958, H 2002 Trustee; Benefactor

Paul J. Carrara 1959, H 2018 Trustee; Benefactor

Mark M. Kisiel 1959, H 2017 Trustee; Benefactor

Pierson G. Mapes 1959, H 1990 Trustee; Benefactor

Gordon R. Sullivan 1959, H 1990 Trustee; Board Chairman; General, USA

Reinhard M. Lotz 1960 Trustee; Volunteer

Dominic W. Ruggerio 1961 Trustee; Volunteer

Carl N. Guerreri 1962 Trustee; Benefactor

Charn Boonpraserth 1964 First Thai student; General, RTA

Francis X. Brennan 1964 Soldier

Robert B. Mack 1964, H 2006 Trustee; Benefactor

E. Tarry Polidor 1964, H 2005 Trustee; Benefactor

Peter L. Dalrymple 1965 Trustee; Benefactor

George F. Giering III 1965 Trustee; Volunteer

Joel A. Kobert 1965 Trustee; Benefactor

Joseph A. Milano Jr. 1966, H 2003 Trustee; Benefactor

William E. McIntosh 1967 Trustee; Volunteer

Charles A. Holden Jr. 1967 Trustee; Volunteer

Harvey C. DeMovick Jr. 1968 Trustee; Benefactor

William M. Lasky 1969 Trustee; Benefactor

George K. Wanat Jr. 1969 Soldier

Kevin D. Crowley 1970 Volunteer; Benefactor

Douglas M. McCracken 1970 Trustee; Benefactor

Boonsrang Niumpradit 1970 Supreme Commander of the Royal Thai Armed Forces

Loring E. Hart H 1982 President

Philip L. Soucy 1973 Trustee; Benefactor

Alan F. DeForest 1975 Trustee; Board Chairman

J. Craig Koziol 1976 Trustee; Lieutenant General, USAF

Roberta J. Haney 1979 Trustee; Benefactor

Mark D. Thompson 1979 Trustee; Benefactor

Lawrence P. Costa 1980 Trustee; Benefactor

David E. Quantock 1980 Lieutenant General, USA

John J. Broadmeadow 1983 Lieutenant General, USMC

Kimberly A. Baumann 1987 First female general officer

Cedric D. George 1987 First African-American cadet colonel; Major General, USAF

Tracey L. Poirier 1996 Rhodes Scholar

Sarah S. Cipov 1998 First female cadet colonel

Jennifer N. Pritzker H 2007 Trustee; Benefactor

Edward C. Byers Jr. Student Medal of Honor recipient

Richard W. Schneider President; Rear Admiral, USCGR

Honorees whose class year include “H” indicate receipt of an honorary degree.